Admissions Open Apply now


Dr. H. Surya Prakash Rao, is a Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, School of Basic Sciences and Research, Shards University. He is also the Dean, Research Sharda University. He had his early education in Hyderabad. He was a student of B.Sc. (special, 1973) and M.Sc. (Organic Chemistry, 1975) in Osmania University, Hyderabad. He joined Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore for Ph.D. in 1975 and obtained his degree in 1980 by working in the area of stereochemistry of organic compounds and working with Professor S. N. Balasubrahmanyam. He had postdoctoral training in the USA and India (Rice University, Houston, Texas with Professor R. J. Parry, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota with Professor E. Leete and Hyderabad University with Professor Goverdhan Mehta) during 1980-1985. He was a visiting scientist in the University of Nijmegen, Nijmegen, The Netherlands during 1999-2000 and 2000-2002 with Professor Hans Schereen. He visited Taiwan in 2007 and USA in 2011, 2014 to give invited talks. He was a Lecturer (North Eastern Hill University, 1985-88), Reader (Pondicherry University, 1988-97), Professor (Pondicherry University, 1997-2018) before translocation to Sharda University. He can be contacted by e.mail and by telephone (91 9870414222 or 91 9443264222).

Academic and Research Achievements His research interests include synthesis stereochemistry and medicinal chemistry of heterocyclic compounds; the Blaise reaction, the Voight Reaction, development of reagents, reaction conditions and green chemical methods etc. He has published over 140 papers in leading organic chemistry journals. He teaches organic chemistry to the post-graduate and undergraduate- students. He has been an associate editor of prestigious Journal of Chemical Science and is in the editorial board of Indian Journal of Heterocyclic Chemistry, ISRN Journal of Organic Chemistry, Proceedings of Indian National Science Academy and ARCHIVOC. Under his guidance 20 research scholars obtained their Ph.D. and 26 scholars their M.Phil. degrees.